“The Most Eloquent Fire.”

“The most eloquent Fire”
by: Jewel Elliott

Illuminate me with words
As the white paper does to the dark ink I press against it.
For if you do, my Love, I promise to be the best verse you have ever written.

Paint me with thoughts
As the blank mind does to the empty places that occupy it.
For if you do, my Love, I promise to be the most entertaining thing to have ever crossed your mind.

Captivate me with touch
As the shore does to the waters that meet it.
For if you do, my Love, I promise to be the most delicate thing your hands have ever felt.

Intoxicate me with taste
As the chocolate does to the mouth it meets.
For if you do, my Love, I promise to be the sweetest thing to have ever touched your lips.

Calm me with Silence
As the quiet night does to the busy day.
For if you do, my Love, I promise to be the kindest Peace you’ve ever heard.

Ignite me with Passion
As a simple word does to the poet whom writes it.
For if you do, my Love, I promise to be the brightest Fire to have ever warmed your Heart.

Tempt me with warmth
As a kind kiss does to the exposed neck.
For if you do, my Love… I promise…
It will be the most eloquent of Fires……

Posted on August 18, 2011, in Poems and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

