In this house of mud and water…

” I am a sculptor, a molder of form.
In every moment I shape an idol.
But then, in front of you, I melt them down.

I can rouse a hundred forms
and fill them with Spirit,
but when I look into your face,
I want to throw them in the Fire.

Are you merely filling this drunkard’s glass
or do you really oppose the sober?
Is it you who brings to ruin every house i build?

My Soul spills into yours and is blended.
Because my Soul has absorbed your fragrance,
I cherish it.
Every drop of blood I spill
informs the Earth,

I merge with my Beloved
when I participate in Love.

In this house of mud and water,
my Heart has fallen to ruins.
Enter this house, my Love, or let me leave.”

– Rumi (Ruins of the Heart)

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Posted on May 29, 2012, in Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

